Movie: The 40 Year Old Virgin.

28 12 2005

Okay, I bought this DVD last week because when Jess and I saw it in the movie theaters, I wasn’t thrilled AT ALL to see it, didn’t want to waste my money on a movie that I thought was going to be so stupid. Boy was I singing a different tune when I came out of the theaters after sitting through that entire movie. The movie was flat out hysterical. I don’t think I laughed that much in the theaters, EVER. It was that funny to me. So dorky yet so out of your seat, screech at the top of your lungs hysterical. (okay so I may be hyping it up a bit here, but gosh I really enjoyed this movie)

It’s about a 40 year old man named Andy who works in an Electronics store and just happens to be a virgin. He makes friends with three of the goofiest, funniest and just cool guys. Regular funny men, David, Jay and Cal. They conjure up a really funny friendship, solely based on getting Andy laid. It’s the most hysterical comedy that I’ve seen this entire year (aside from Napoleon Dynamite of course). It’s so funny to see these characters interact with each other and its just tons of laugh, the mischief these four guys get into while trying to get Andy laid. I left the theater with cramps in my sides from laughing so hard and when I watched it this weekend (cause I just HAD to own it) I was laughing uproariously all over again.

One of my favorite moments in this movie was when Cal and Andy are sitting in Andy’s living room, playing video games while Andy is on the phone with Trish, his crush. Here’s a bit of the conversation Andy’s friends had…

Cal: You’re gay now?
David: No, I’m not gay I’m just celibate.
Cal: I think? I mean, that sounds ga- I just want you to know this is like the first conversation of like three conversations that leads to you being gay. Like… there’s this and then in a year it’s like, “Oh you know, I kinda wanna, ya know, get back out there but I think I like guys” and then there’s the big, “Oh I’m I’m a g-gay guy now”.
David: You’re gay for saying that.
Cal: I’m gay for saying that?
David: You know how I know you’re gay?
Cal: How? How do you know I’m gay?
David: Because you macramed yourself a pair of jean shorts.
Cal: You know how I know you’re gay? You just told me you’re not sleeping with women any more.
David: You know how I know that you’re gay?
Cal: How? Cuz you’re gay? and you can tell who other gay people are.
David: You know how I know you’re gay?
Cal: How?
David: You like Coldplay.

The whole You know how I know YOU’RE gay thing just had me rollin’ for days. I couldn’t help but blog about one of the funniest movies I have seen in a very long time. I just HAD to gush about it, so now that you’ve read why I think it’s so funny, get it, watch it and love it, just like me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

