Movie: Tristan and Isolde.

16 01 2006

First seperated by countries at war, and now loyalty to King and country, Tristan and Isolde must suppress their emotions for the sake of peace and the future of England. But the more they deny their passion, the more fiercely it burns. Despite their efforts to stay apart, Tristan and Isolde are driven inexorably together, risking everything for one last moment in each other’s arms.
-taken from the Tristan & Isolde website.

This movie was straight out of one of my romance novels (that I’m shamelessly addicted too) and I loved every minute of it. I went from breathless with anticipation to frightfully aware that they shouldn’t be together, but knew that they were meant to be together and even wanted them to find a way to be together, because just like the theme song for the movie says, They belong together. They couldn’t help the way they felt anymore than they could help the fact that they were destined to be together.

Tristan and Isolde was more of an epic romance than an action drama movie. Because the emphasis was on their love and their struggle to first fight their attraction to each other, than their struggle to keep their forbidden romance a secret.

It was surprisingly quirky and funny in places, witty and achingly heart breaking in others, but for me that’s a sure hit. This movie hit me with an emotional roller coaster that I know I will not soon forget, especially since I’m still mooning over James Franco (who was a great Tristan, IMO), I would have to say that the movie did a wonderful job of hooking me into not only the storyline but the subplots and the characters. I felt bad for Lord Marke, because he was put in an awkward situation, because his number one knight had betrayed him with his wife and you could see the look of devastation on Tristan’s face when Marke confronted him about his suspicions, Tristan didn’t want to hurt the man who had fathered him after his own father was slaughtered. He didn’t want to betray Marke the way he did, but because his love was so strong for Isolde, he couldn’t help but fall in the sight of his overlord.

What good is a life, with no one to share, the light of the moon, the honor of a swear. we can try to live the way in which you speak, taste the milk of your mother earth’s love, spread the word of consciencness you see, we are everything we need

The lyrics to the theme song are very moving….because, they fit with what the movie is about so perfect, that it’s impossible to hear the song and not think of the movie, as well as see the movie without think of the song. The entire time I was sitting in the theater, I was thinking that the lyrics to the song are amazingly well written and mesh so well with the movie that hearing the words sung, can really break your heart. Which is exactly what makes a great song, for me.

The hammer may strike, be dead on the ground. a net to my hand, a cross on his crown. we’re done if, who we’re undone, finished if who we are incomplete. as one we are everything, we are everything we need.

Again, the lyrics flow so magically from Gavin’s mouth and into my ear and it makes my sappy heart sigh with longing for things that are within my grasp, but so hard to reach for. They make me long for the unperfect love that Tristan and Isolde had.

Gosh, I’m a sap.

But those of you that are romantic saps, who love stories of old that revolve around war, family, loyalty and love. Tristan and Isolde is the perfect movie for you then. It makes you think of all the things you haven’t thought about in a long while, makes you question things you’ve often pondered. It makes you wonder….

If true love truly does conquer all.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

