My Baby is Smart.

17 02 2006

So, remember when I was having all those problems with Brenna not turning in her homework, her reading wasn’t up to par as the rest of the class and she wasn’t doing so hot with her classwork.

I met with her teacher a few weeks ago and she told me Brenna had the elementary school version of the high schools “Senioritis”. She was worried about Brenna, because she didn’t seem to interested in doing much of anything, almost like she was depressed and it started reflecting in her grades at school.

Well, I just got off the phone with Brenna, she called to tell me that she got her 5th 100% on her Math quiz, this week. She was beyond exstatic, but she was a bit wary to tell me that she also brought a letter home from her teacher. She was scared because she didn’t know what was in the letter. So, I told her to open it and practice her reading, I told her to read it to me. This is what she had to say.

“But Mom, can’t you read it when you get home?” she said.

I sighed and said, “Brenna, just open it up and read it to me right now.”

“Okay, but Mom if you get mad then it’s your fault.”

“I won’t get mad I promise, but did you do something at school that I should know about?”

“No, but Devin got in trouble because he went running away today at our field trip, Mrs. B yelled at him to stay with the class and he didn’t listen.”

“Well, since you’re not Devin, we don’t have to worry now, do we?”

“Okay Mom, I’m gonna read it now, kay?”

I waited.

“Dear Brenna’s Mom, This is just a follow up on our conference last week regarding Brenna’s problem areas in class. I’m glad to say that Brenna is doing a remarkable job, making up her work and her Math and Reading has gone up considerably since we met. Whatever you’re doing at home, please continue to do so because the Brenna I remember from the beginning of the school year is back. She is showing progress in both of her problem areas and I am happy to say that she has finally caught up to the level of reading that she’s supposed to be at.

Sincerely, Mrs. B. Ooh Mom, she said I’m being good, she told me that at school today, can I go to Aunty Tiffany’s house tonight?”

I couldn’t help but smile, my baby read the entire thing to me and it just goes to show that hard work DOES pay off, because she doesn’t gripe about reading anymore, she is doing extremely well in her math homework and classwork and I am doing my happy dance in my office right now because that little girl has worked her tail off for her new rollerblades, I’m going to surprise her with them this weekend, I already went earlier this week to check them out with Jess, so we’re getting them for her this weekend.

This is exactly what I needed to start my weekend off on a good note, gosh I’m so happy that my baby is showing her true worth and is done pouting around about her schoolwork.

Be excited with me, dammit. LOL.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

