A Walk Down Memory Lane with American Idol…

9 03 2006

So last night, as I stood in my living room dancing around with my brush in hand, entertaining my little “audience” made up of my daughter and 4 nieces and nephews, singing along to the guys on American Idol, making them laugh and what not. I was taken back in time when Ace came on to sing his version of Butterflies by Michael Jackson.

Back to when I was dancing my way down the isles of the local Wal Mart, singing along to the music in my head and to the utter delight of my fellow co workers.

You see when I worked at Wal Mart, I was known in the store as the Dancing Queen or the Music Diva, because you could always catch me dancing at my register or up and down the aisles, I was a favorite of the older cashiers and floor workers because, they loved to hear me singing an old favorite of theirs and the young popular kids would always groove along with me, either at our registers or just mucking around in the back.

It was funny, how Wal Mart functioned too. There seemed to be a neverending supply of gossip to run the rounds and you can bet your bottom dollar that by the time your next shift started, there was a fresh batch of gossip to be readily handed down to you. Such and such softlines associate was sleeping with this unloader and this cashier was cheating on her husband (who was stationed overseas) with such and such TLE Associate, it was shameless if you ask me, but like clockwork, the rumors flew wicked wild across the store, which really, is the same everywhere.

I hung out with two girls while I worked at Wal Mart, they became my “sisters”. One’s name was Leti, the other’s name was Sasha. We were pretty popular too, because there was always some kind of gossip going around about one of us, most of the time it was ALL of us. Now mind you, I probably would have never found out about any of these rumors, had my brother in law not worked there, because it’s amazing that you hear gossip about everyone else and their mother but the gossip concerning you, seemed to reach to the undersides of the store, but always avoided making its vicious way to your ears.

I remember one time, someone was spreading a nasty rumor about Leti, saying she was having an affair with one of the Assistant Managers (which is a big no no by itself, but the Asst. Manager was married with three kids) and she was incensed over it. So, after she heard it, she called me on the phone and asked me to take a break, she was seriously pissed off about this and so I did.

Now, the rumors about me didn’t get out of hand like that, the worst the rumors about me did was Dylan has a crush on so and so guy in Shoes or Dylan was seen dancing buck wild on the table of such and such bar, but that was it. So, we’re walking to the break room and we sit down and then she tells me all about the latest rumor about her and I go through the normal reactions, first shock that they would dare say such horrible things about my friend and then anger, I want someone’s head for hurting my friend so and then I went about cheering my friend up.

Now while I’m making Leti laugh, my crush, Derek walks into the break room, listening to his cd player. Leti’s eyes glaze over and I know she’s planniing on embarassing me. So I shrug my shoulders and turn to greet him.

We mess around with him for a little bit and then ask what he’s listening to and turns out, he’s listening to a slow jam cd that he made. Now, Grace can attest to my love of slow jams. R&B songs in particular and when he handed over his cd player for me to listen to, I began singing along to, Bliss by Mariah Carey and Derek smiled and told me that he approved of my taste in music. I laughed and I guess while I was singing along to the song, Leti and Derek were having a conversation about me, I heard bits and pieces of it, but was engulfed in my favorite songs, pouring from the head phones, into my ear.

I dont’ remember what we were talking about, but Derek took the headphones away from me and then started laughing, he turned the song and Leti and I went back to talking about girl things and then out of nowhere, Derek starts singing.

I’ve never heard him sing before, but he started singing, Butterflies by Michael Jackson, I turned to him with a big smile on my face and he was looking right at me, singing it. He even winked at me and like the giddy young adult that I was, I was enamoured all the more.

I had completely forgotten about that song and moment, but when Ace sang it last night, my phone rang and it was Leti, screeching into the phone, “ITS YOUR SONG!”

I thought Ace did a great job singing that song and it was crazy how hearing a certain song could trigger a long lost memory, a memory that I had totally forgotten had happened in the first place.

Has this ever happened to you?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

