Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

21 03 2006


Hero: Wrath
Heroine: Beth Randall
Grade: A
Date: 3/20/06

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

Whoa, talk about GREAT WRITING.

This book was a bit slow to start but once it picked up, I was totally enthralled. I was enthralled by the world in which Wrath lived, captivated by his Brothers and down right intrigued by the man, himself.

I loved the whole concept of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, they fight the good fight for their species and I’m always a sucker for a warrior with an honorable mission. I fell more in love with Wrath as the story progressed and by the end of the book I was head over heels in love with him.

He was perfect for Beth. And Beth was perfect for him. Talk about a strong heroine. The way she stayed back and defended Wrath when he was hurting, took donkey balls and she had them in spades. The entire story was action packed and full of romance, I couldn’t ask for more. It was kinda weird that Beth Randall stood out to me. I have read so many hot damn romance novels that the heroines all seem to blend into one perfect heroine, same face, same everything…but Beth Randall with her dark hair and her fierce determination to do the right thing, even when faced with things that she doesn’t understand, is really something else. She stands apart from any other heroine that I’ve read about and I think that was pure genius on J.R. Ward’s part…she really is perfect for Wrath.

I read this book in record time, for me. It was that good. I totally recommend this book to anyone who is brave enough to read something different.

Although, I must be honest and say that there are plenty of similarities between SK’s Dark Hunter Series and J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood. Wrath, the King of the Vampires is what Ash is for the Dark Hunter world….but for some reason, and I feel like the worst of traitors in saying that I kinda liked Wrath better than Ash. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I really do love me some Ash, but I wasn’t as wrapped up in Ash when I read the DH books as I was, immediately when I started reading about Wrath. There was just something about Wrath that I found utterly appealing.

Butch O’Neal. I liked him from the very beginning, loved his character, loved his do gooder with a serious twist attitude. He was the best guy friend a girl could ever have and to have Butch guarding your back was truly a Godsend for Beth.

I’m so glad that he’ll be sticking around, because I seriously love the guy. I won’t get into details because I dont want to ruin anything, but be on the look out for him….and Rhage. Gosh, I’m so in love with Rhage it’s not even funny….ya’ll can be banana’s over Z all you want, but for me, it’s all about Rhage…I just love that vampire to death.

Oh, one thing that I totally loved about this book and series I guess you can say is that I loved that they all listened to rap music. I don’t care for it that much, but there’s something about when a guy listens to rap music that I just find sexy…and this bunch of vampires????? SEXY. (in all caps!)

I can’t wait to sink my teeth (hehe) into Rhage’s book…my lunch break couldn’t come any sooner.

Get this book, read it and love it…I did.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

