Movie Review: She’s The Man.

12 04 2006

Starring: Amanda Bynes, Channing Tatum, Rob Hoffman, Alex Breckenridge, David Cross.
Running Time: 1 Hour, 45 Minutes.
Dylan’s Grade: A

Viola Johnson (Amanda Bynes) had her own good reasons for disguising herself as her twin brother Sebastian (James Kirk) and enrolling in his place at his new boarding school, Illyria Prep. She was counting on Sebastian being AWOL from school as he tried to break into the music scene in London. What she didn’t count on was falling in love with her hot roommate, Duke (Channing Tatum), who in turn only has eyes for the beautiful Olivia (Laura Ramsey). Making matters worse, Olivia is starting to fall for Sebastian, who–for reasons Olivia couldn’t begin to guess–appears to be the sensitive type of guy she’d always dreamed of meeting. If things weren’t complicated enough, the real Sebastian has come back from London two days earlier than expected and arrives on campus having no clue that he’s been replaced…by his own twin sister.

So yesterday after work, I rush home because I promised the niece and Brenna that I would take them both to the movies to watch She’s the Man, don’t ask me why a 7 year old little girl has been bugging me all week to go see that movie, but she has and since I was going to be there with her, I was okay with her watching the movie.

So the movie starts and it’s all about Viola playing soccer and her boyfriend Justin telling her how great she is at soccer and that she’s better than half the guys on their Boys Soccer Team at school. She’s all happy and then they head back to school. The school’s budget cut the girls’ soccer team, so Viola (Amanda Byne’s character) wants to join the Boys Soccer Team to make sure that the Scouts come to see her when they start looking for young talent for the different colleges.

Alright, I get it, you’re good at soccer, you’re pissed that you aren’t going to be able to play on the girl’s team and your prick of a boys soccer coach doesn’t think you can cut it playing on the boy’s team, I would probably be pissed too, but gosh throughout the first like twenty minutes of the movie it was just one cheesy line after the other with a bunch of cheesy acting thrown in as well, I kept wondering if it was going to get better. So of course I text Grace and ask her if she’s sure this movie was good, she assured me that it was and so I sat back and watched.

Then Viola dressed up as her brother and went to his school and tried out for his brother’s soccer team. Mind you, the brother, the REAL Sebastian doesn’t play soccer at all, he’s a musician (who flew off to London to try to make it with his band).

The movie totally picked up as soon as she was in her boy threads, walking around campus being a complete imbecile. Trying to fit in, trying to stay in character, trying to make friends and most of all, trying to make the soccer team without anyone finding out that she wasn’t really a boy or Sebastian Hastings for that matter.

Oh.My.Gosh.

I don’t think I’ve laughed as much before in a movie theater as much as I did while sitting through this movie, I have got to give Grace props because this is most definitely going on my MUST BUY DVD WHEN IT COMES OUT IMMEDIATELY list. This movie was SO good. I freaking loved it!

It was everything it was supposed to be, cute, hysterical and fluffy.

I fell in love with Duke, right from the beginning. Oh gosh, I totally need to find me my very own Duke. Grace is absolutely right, from now on every guy I go out with will have to be Duke potential. This guy was the perfect guy, which is not perfect at all.

LOL, the scene where Viola first gets to Illyria and her tampons fall out of her boots and she explains herself out of that one, totally cracked me up, I was laughing so hard it was too funny. Then there was the scene where “Sebastian” meets up with the Dean of the school and she’s thinking that her game is up, they know she’s a girl and she starts unravelling her wrap to bind her breasts down, OMG it was so flippin’ hysterical.

Then there are the funny scenes at the carnival and the more serious scenes between the “roomies” Duke and “Sebastian”. How they got to talk to each other and get to know each other without Duke finding out that Sebastian was really Sebastian’s twin SISTER, Viola, the girl he kissed the heck out of at the carnival was really something else.

The romance between Viola and Duke was sweet to watch because even though Duke was the big man on campus, the guy every girl wanted to date, he was one big ball of insecurity. He couldn’t talk to girls if his life depended on it and it was cute how “Sebastian” got him to open up, Duke is the kind of guy EVERY girl would fall in love with because he was so much more than the big jock that everyone assumed he was.

He is exactly what I look for in a guy and man, the end? SO SWEET!

I absolutely loved this movie, I loved the way it ended and everything in between, the movie was great but Duke? He was the BEST! LOVE HIM!! Ya’ll should definitely see this movie, because it’s so good!

SO CUTE! GO WATCH IT!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

