Movie Review: The Benchwarmers.

17 04 2006



Starring: Rob Schneider, Dave Spade, Jon Heder, Jon Lovitz, Craig Kilborn.
Running Time: 1 hour, 25 minutes.
Dylan’s Grade: C.

Gus and his nerdy buddies, Richie and Clark, are scouted by a millionaire nerd, Mel, who wants to form a baseball team and compete with the meanest Little League teams in the state. A stellar ballplayer, Gus becomes a role model for nerds and outcasts everywhere. But when his fans learn that Gus, himself, was once a school bully, they feel outraged and betrayed, until Gus takes extraordinary steps to win back their admiration and trust.

The movie was funny, but it wasn’t as funny as some of the other movies like this, like Waterboy, The Longest Yard (with Adam Sandler) and whatever other movie that I can’t think of the name of. I mean, don’t get me wrong, this movie was filled with LOL moments, but as much as I enjoyed watching it, it’s not a favorite of mine.

I enjoyed She’s the Man more than this movie. But I’ve got to say that Jon Heder does awesome in this movie as well, I thought I wouldn’t like him as much as I did in Napoleon Dynamite, thought he wouldn’t do as well in this one but he did. He is a funny guy. Really dingy, ditzy and just all out freaking hilarious. He’s pretty gross in this movie too, but funny nonetheless.

Rob Schneider isn’t as dorky as we all see him to be, he was actually pretty cool in this movie, but my all time favorite Rob Schneider movie role has got to be Ula in 50 First Dates. He just totally cracks me up in that movie.

Ula: “Believe it or not, dis my cood eye!”

The way he talks in this movie, freaking cracks me the hell up! And yeah, only I can start reviewing one movie and gush about another, but back to the discussion at hand. Yeah, Rob Schneider was a good Gus, he surprised me that he could actually take a lead role in a movie and do well with it, I’m so used to be him being back up to Adam Sandler but he shined all on his own, go ROB!

Dave Spade was funny too, not nearly as funny as Jon Heder but his humorous lines were best delivered to an older audience since none of the kids I took to see this movie got any of his jokes. The moral behind the entire movie was a good one, “don’t pick on the nerds, they wanna play baseball too!” The kids loved the movie, they all talked over themselves to make sure I knew that they don’t pick on the nerds at school after they assured me THEY weren’t the nerds themselves, of course.

So, would I go see this movie again in the theater? Maybe once more with my friends, since I took the nieces and Brenna to see this one, but I won’t be going all movie theater crazy on this movie like I did for all of the Lord of the Rings, Troy and how I want to go for She’s the Man, but yeah it was a good one.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

