Movie Review: Step Up.

18 04 2006

Starring: Channing Tatum, Jenna Dewan, Mario and Drew Sidora.
Genres: Drama and Musical/Performing Arts
Running Time: 1 hr. 38 min.
Release Date: August 11th, 2006 (wide)
MPAA Rating: PG-13 for thematic elements, brief violence and innuendo.
Dylan’s Grade: B-

Everyone deserves a chance to follow their dreams, but some people only get one shot. Tyler Gage is a rebel from the wrong side of Baltimore’s tracks–and the only thing that stands between him and an unfulfilled life are his dreams of one day making it out of there. Nora is a privileged ballet dancer attending Baltimore’s ultra-elite Maryland School of the Arts–and the only thing standing in the way of her obviously brilliant future is finding a great dance partner for her senior showcase. When trouble with the law lands Tyler with a community service gig at Maryland School of the Arts, he arrives as an angry outsider, until his skills as a gifted street dancer draw Nora’s attention. Now, as sparks fly between them, both on and off stage, Tyler realizes he has just one performance to prove that he can step up to a life far larger than he ever imagined.

I know I’ve been promising my review on this but finally, it’s here.

This movie was pretty good.

It’s not as good as I thought it was going to be, but Channing Tatum more than made up for it with his smooth grooves and his smoking hot good looks. Damn that boy looks good and he can get down. Jenna Dewan is a really good dancer, but it shouldn’t come as a big surprise that she didn’t do much for me, the acting is meh in this movie, but it’s not a movie that you go to see and you don’t enjoy some aspect of it.

For me, the hip hop dancing is what I really liked. The whole Tyler Gage world isn’t anything to brag about but when he would start dancing at those parties, it was very easy on the eyes and very entertaining, who knew that Channing had some soul in him. I loved it.

The finale number was pretty good but I liked the finale number in Center Stage better, I don’t know why, I just do.

I loved the part where Tyler is dancing with his little foster sister, Camille (which home girl from the Disney Channel, you know Sarah Baker from Cheaper by the Dozen, and the little girl dancer from the Missy Elliot videos), they were too cute together and it was cute to see her coming to Tyler’s room every morning bugging him. It made the other part of his character, the Tyler Gage that he showed to his friends more likeable, I guess…I thought Tyler being the Billy Bad Ass in the beginning was so stupid, I didn’t care for it at all, but I liked the transformation in his character throughout the movie, so yeah it was pretty good.

I was scared of Mario (the singer) in this movie, playing Miles, the DJ at the Spintables, making his beats and being an art student and what not, his little secondary romance storyling with Lucy was pretty cute.

There’s this scene in the middle of the movie where Tyler goes to see Lucy sing back up for her boyfriend Colin, where they do the modern day Electric Slide (or well, their version of it, because who goes to a party and does a routine from start to finish of the song? I mean really??) I did enjoy that routine, but I thought it was a bit corny because Tyler is supposed to not know the routine, and then by the end of the song, he not only knows the whole routine, but he’s better than everyone else who knew the routine before…yeah, okay.

But, this movie is enjoyable, more so for the ladies then the fella’s though, I would think because the best part of this movie, was hottie Channing Tatum.

And yeah, he’s very yummy in this movie.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

