Movie Review: Rent.

24 04 2006


Starring: Rosario Dawson, Taye Diggs, Adam Pascal, Jesse L. Martin, Anthony Rapp, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Idina Menzel, Tracie Thoms..
Running Time: 1 hour, 45 minutes.
Rating: PG-13
Dylan’s Grade: Movie- C Music- A.

In New York’s East Village, a group of bohemians struggle to express themselves through their art and strive for success and acceptance while enduring the obstacles of poverty, illness and the AIDS epidemic. Roger is an aspiring songwriter who has emotionally shut down after his girlfriend’s suicide. Despite his attraction, he is reluctant to start a new romance with his downstairs neighbor Mimi Marquez, an exotic dancer struggling with “baggage of her own.” Roger’s roommate Mark is a filmmaker trying to balance art and commerce. His girlfriend Maureen, a self-indulgent performance artist, recently left him for a lawyer named Joanne. Also part of this close-knit circle is Tom Collins, a professor of philosophy who, after being mugged, is rescued by his soul mate, a high-spirited street drummer, Angel Shunard. Benny, who alienated his friends after he married their landlord’s daughter, has reneged on his promise to provide rent-free artist space to his bohemian friends. Once a close friend, he is now viewed as the enemy, threatening them with eviction.

I gave this movie a C as a movie and I think it’s kind of retarded because if I didn’t care for the movie (which the first time I watched it, I didn’t care for it at all, funky I know), why have I watched the movie so many times already? I mean, the first time I watched it, I was by myself and the movie kind of dragged, I was confused by all the singing and them talking and so it was really hard to follow, but once I got what the whole movie was about (yeah I was real ignorant about this movie, didn’t even know that it was about gays and AIDS, but it is), I started liking it more and more.

And once I got the whole concept of the movie, I started listening to the songs and fell in love with all of the songs. I’m so in love with the music from this musical that I went out and bought the soundtrack to this movie and I play it while I’m cleaning my house, while I’m driving to work or the store or whatever, I’m ALWAYS listening to it and what’s worst is that I’ve got all of my kids (my nieces and nephews) singing along to the songs as well.

My nephew Chase, who is 3 was walking around the house yesterday singing, “We will not pay rent, we will not pay rent, rent rent rent!” It was adorable, because really what does he know about rent? LOL.

But back to the movie…I’m thinking I should change the grade to this movie because after a few watches, I DID enjoy the movie, I did cry like crazy the second time i watched it, even though I knew what was coming and I really did enjoy the music, the cast (OMGosh I’m hecka crushing on Adam Pascal, who plays Roger in here) and dude, who knew Rosario Dawson could sing? And Jesse L. Martin and Taye Diggs as well…I was really shocked at how good they were, I LOVED Rosario’s voice in this movie.

The movie is touching and the characters were great. But I guess I’m going to keep the grade at what it is because I, myself couldn’t really relate to the characters, why would you choose or WANT to live on that street? The whole block was frickin’ dirty and not at all something I would want to call home. When I think of home, I think of something along the lines of, nice, clean and inviting. You can’t use any of those words to describe the place that those people live in. And they choose to live there. But to each, their own I guess.

The whole AIDS thing was something I never really thought about but it did raise a bunch of questions that I have dwelled on and have given lots of thought too. I’ve never really paid too much attention to the gays and lesbians around me either, gosh I sound so flippin’ superficial but even now, I can’t really say that I’m bothered too much by the whole Gay Movement, whatever, do your thing, so I guess that’s why the movie was just good to me. But the music? Off the chains! Although, only me and my nieces seem to think so.

Jess thinks I’ve gone crazy but I would definitely pimp this movie out, if only for the music.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

