The Things We Learned In School.

11 06 2006


My daughter will be going into the second grade next year and I swear her homework is going to start getting really hard for me to help her with because for the life of me, I can’t remember a hot damn thing I was taught in grade school, middle school, let alone high school.

I came to this realization the other day and again today when my niece Chelsea came to me for help with her Math homework. I swear the curriculum that they have the kids doing these days make me shudder with shame, because I swear I wasn’t learning the things my niece Chelsea is learning in her class until I was in 10th grade. I kid you not, she’s doing integers and all that other crap that I sucked at in 10th grade and she’s not even in high school. I don’t think you understand the dire situation I’m in. I’m a single mother, I’m the one that my daughter comes to for help with her homework, what the heck am I going to do when she starts coming to me for help with her Algebra homework in flippin’ 5th grade? I swear by the time Brenna gets to the 7th grade, she’ll be taking Trig.

I can’t remember what happened last week, let alone what was taught to me years and years ago and it makes me sigh because I should know this stuff, right? I mean, stuff like fractions and integers and pi should all be familiar to me, right?

Wrong.

I done forgot ALL of it, so all of you guys, my dear blog friends, I’m begging you….all you Mathmetitions (sp?) out there, I will be coming to you guys for HELP one of these days, I’m already dreading the day…..

My question to you guys is this: Do you guys remember any of the teachings you were taught in grade school or school period?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

