Album Review: Me and My Gang by Rascal Flatts.

12 06 2006

This is my first ever review post for this site, so if I do something wrong, please don’t shoot me. I’ll get it right eventually, but for now, I want to review Rascal Flatt’s new album which I got this weekend, called, Me and My Gang.

Now for those of you who aren’t country music fans like myself, Rascal Flatts is a country band consisting of Gary LeVox, Joe Don Rooney and Jay Demarcus. Gary is the lead vocalist in the band and Joe Don and Jay play the majority of the instruments. Jay Demarcus writes a lot of their songs which I think is pretty awesome, that man can seriously get down on the piano, he is the real deal. Joe Don is known for his bare ass in the music video for their hit record, “I Melt”, if you saw the video you got to see this cutie patootie’s backside while he’s getting it on with his on screen love interest. Gary LeVox, man has that man got a set of pipes, he can sing like it’s nobody’s business. His voice IS the business, the money maker because he can sing any song and sing it good. He sounds amazing live and I just love getting lost in his vocals on each track. They’re known for their lively love songs such as “Everyday Love”, “Love You Out Loud” and “Fast Cars and Freedom”, but fan favorites also include slow love ballads such as “God Bless the Broken Road”, “I Melt” and “I’m Moving On”. They have had phenomenal success with all of their albums which include, chart topping albums “Rascal Flatts”, “Melt”, “Feels Like Today” and their latest release, “Me and My Gang”. Rascal Flatts comes courtesy of Lyric Street Records.

Gary and the boys are back with a new album, a third for them called Me and My Gang. The song is comprised with new music from Rascal Flatts and some out of this world vocals from Gary, the lead singer.

My favorite song was What Hurts The Most, which you can check out on Yahoo Launch for free, in their country genre video library. The video to this song is very touching, sad and just really good.

Here’s a list of the songs:

1. Stand
2. What Hurts the Most
3. Backwards
4. I Feel Bad
5. My Wish
6. Pieces
7. Yes I Do
8. To Make Her Love Me
9. Words I Couldn’t Say
10. Me and My Gang
11. Cool Thing
12. Ellsworth
13. He Aint the Leaving Kind

I like a large portion of this album with only a few songs that I don’t really care for. The lyrics to a lot of the songs are touching, very sweet and mighty endearing. Like the lyrics to My Wish are sweet. They’re the feel good kind of lyrics that makes the heart sigh and you couple those lyrics with Gary’s sweet vocals, it makes for a great song.

I Feel Bad is another good song on the album, its a song about moving on from a broken relationship, about how he feels bad that he doesn’t feel bad about the relationship ending, we all go through that sometimes, when you know that you’re not in love with the person you’re with and when things finally end between you guys, you’re more relieved than heartbroken because you know in your heart that it was time to move on with your life.

Pieces is a song about finally finding the courage to let go of the one person that keeps breaking your heart, Gary sings this song very well, the instruments are played extremely well and the song kind of takes you away to that time when you started dating the one person you knew would change your life forever, in a bad way. The relationship that left a bitter taste in your mouth because you loved with all you had and they loved you when it was convenient for them to love you, this song hits home to those of us who have been betrayed by a loved one and although the lyrics are sad, the song is a good one to listen to just to while away the hours, peacefully.

One of my favorite songs on this album is #9, entitled “Words I Couldn’t Say”. I don’t know if I can relate to this song or if the song itself just speaks to me, but for whatever reason I absolutely love this song. I think I can relate to this song because I have a massive crush on this guy named David and there have been many times when I could have told him of my feelings but I chose not too, I know, I’m a coward, whatever, but this song is my anthem because it’s speaking to me and people like me, people who are too afraid of putting themselves out there and taking the risk that could result in love or rejection.

This line in the song, “…I should have found a way to tell you how I felt, now the only one I’m telling is myself…”

That is SO me.

As a whole, this album was pretty good, not their best but a pretty good album. Its very ballad heavy so if you’re looking for some rock out country songs, you won’t find many of them on here, I think some of the songs are corny like #3, Backwards and #10 Me and My Gang, but there are other songs that make the album a worthwhile purchase, like #2, #4, #5, #9 and some others. I’m not at all pissed that I got this album so I guess that’s saying something, eh? Ya’ll should check this album out if you’re in the mood for some thought provoking love songs with great vocals.

To check this album out, click here.
To buy the album, click here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

