Movie Review: Crash.

13 06 2006

A Brentwood housewife and her D.A. husband. A Persian store owner. Two police detectives who are also lovers. An African-American television director and his wife. A Mexican locksmith. Two car-jackers. A rookie cop. A middle-aged Korean couple. They all live in Los Angeles. And during the next 36 hours, they will all collide.

Okay, this movie was a good one, I’ll admit that because it did an outstanding job, PISSING ME THE HELL OFF.

I was watching this movie and getting mad over Matt Dillon’s character or Sandra Bullock’s character and I guess it made me realize just how self involved I am. I’m never worried about what everyone around me at the grocery store or across the street in Starbucks is doing, what their problems are, what bills they’re stressing over this month, the only thing I care about is getting my stuff and moving the hell on to my next destination and if on my way to the next destination, someone cuts me off, someone stops abruptly at the stop light causing me to break really fast to avoid hitting them, whatever, I’m honking my horn, throwing those Italian hand gestures Holly taught me and cursing up a storm to them, never taking the time to think that maybe they were preoccupied with something that was bothering them or stressing over something that if I DID know, I would probably be sympathetic toward.

I live in L.A. and everything in this movie made me realize just how true all of it is, I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I’ve heard people yelling at each other at a store and in their angst throwing racial slurs at each other, most of the time getting their nationality wrong. All Latin Americans are Mexican, all dark skinned people are fucking Arabs, all Asians are Chinese and all Polynesians are Hawaiian. It would make anyone mad if they’re one thing and are being made fun of because of some other culture that isn’t even theirs. This movie opened my eyes to the realness of the problem that is racism and prejudice.

You see, the movie is about a group of people from all different backgrounds and lives, it’s about how their lives connect through a 36 hour time period, how they all collide together. It’s crazy how the movie ends. It’s crazy that you could be really liking one character one minute and then thinking, OMGosh what was I thinking? It’s funny how life throws those curveballs your way and teaches you something you didn’t think you were capable of learning.

I really enjoyed this movie, it may have pissed me off something fierce but overall the movie was a good one and I’m glad that I finished watching it (because for a moment I really thought I was going to turn it off) and would recommend this movie to most anyone, it was very enlightening, a bit of an eye opener to us fellow L.Aers but a very good movie to watch. Go out and get it, you’ll enjoy it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

