Movie Review: Stomp the Yard.

3 06 2007


Starring: Chris Brown, Columbus Short, Brian J. White, Ne-Yo, Meagan Good, Darrin DeWitt Hens.
Rating: PG-13
Running Time: 1 hr, 54 mins.
Grade: B

DJ, a troubled youth from Los Angeles attending the historically black Truth University in Atlanta, Georgia. When adapting to his new environment proves difficult, DJ finds solace in joining a struggling fraternity where he begins implementing his street-style dance moves in an attempt to help the step team win the coveted National Step Show Championship. Before long DJ becomes the competing fraternity’s main rival, while trying to pursue his new love interest, deal with his own troubled past and learn the true meanings of brotherhood and Fraternity along the way.

Hot damn but these fools can dance!

This movie is about a young boy from Los Angeles, named DJ who is very troubled. He’s a street dancer, kind of like David and Elgin from You Got Served, DJ loves to battle. He loves to win dance battles and hot damn, I love to watch him win those battles, because this kid can dance. He can get with the get down. When disaster strikes, he’s shipped off to Georgia and enrolled in Turth University where he’s introduced to a whole new world of dancing, the world of Step.

While he struggles with his issues from home and his struggles to fit in at this new school, he’ s introduced to the world of brotherhood through stomping, stepping and everything that comes with it. He doesn’t step, he battles and when he makes it into the struggling Theta fraternity, he teaches his brothers how to combine the old school with the new school and battle til they win!

This was a good movie, I hella enjoyed the movie mainly because of the dancing. From the streets of L.A. to the campus of Truth University, the dancing was on point throughout. The casting director did a good job casting this movie, from Chris Brown (I’m a big fan of his) to the guy that played DJ, it was just all good in the hood. DJ did a good job of portraying a boy hurt from the devastating loss of a loved one and doing his best to honor the memory of the one person who meant the most to him. The one boy who wanted so much more than what they had going on in their lives.

To see DJ adapt to his new life in Georgia was satisfying at the end, to see how far he came and how he didn’t turn tail and run when times got a little rough, it was just friggin’ fantastic. I enjoyed seeing him get what he wanted in April and to see them get their crap together in order to be together. I loved how they never gave up and this whole movie was just fun and even though it was a mixture of Drumline and You Got Served, I didn’t even care because the dancing was still on point and the battle at the end was still explosive.

Good, good movie, check it out if you’re in the mood for some great dance battle scenes (I love me a good dance battle) and just friggin’ great choreography, it’s the bomb!

Actions

Information

7 responses

3 06 2007
B

I love a good dancing movie as well- I will rent this for sure

thanks for the review.

4 06 2007
supasta

AMEN sistah!

I watched that movie over and over again last week. I love DJ and all the Theta bois..can u say “STEAMIN HOTTT” (in capital letters with 3Ts) my gosh..i was rewind and forward the movie to my favorite parts..you know..the dancing/battle/steppin/stomping parts..

too bad i had to give my friend back him movie..was suppose to borrow it for a nite but i ended up having it the whole week..lol..otay..time to wake up now..nuff dreaming for now..lol…oh but yummy the bois jogging up the hill…aaahhhhh…

mwuahz..
have a good one dahling

4 06 2007
Rowena

B,

This movie was the bomb, LOVED IT! I got up and did my own little stomp afterward and it totally had me wanting to pop, lock and drop it! =)

Jen,

Oh girl…I was all about DJ making Grant look stupid, I was all over that mess, I hated Grant and loved all the battle scenes where DJ laid him out..especially that first one, when he did the Walk It Out…it was so the business! haha.

4 06 2007
Mailyn

I’m not into these kinda movies. I did watch Drumline and You Got Served but strictly for the battles. I will probably see this as well for the same reasons.

4 06 2007
Rowena

You should, the dancing is on point in this one…

5 06 2007
Jenster

I’ve got this in my Netflix queue. Thanks for the recommend!

6 06 2007
Rowena

I’m sure your kids will enjoy the movie too Jenster, good dance steps! =)

Leave a Reply

