Thursday Thirteen…My Favorite Movies.

2 08 2007


I’m a girly girl and I love movies that make my heart sigh, movies that make me laugh a lot but I also love great war movies and just action movies as well. I thought that since I love me some menz in the movies and I love watching movies, I’d share some of my absolute favorite movies of all time.

1. Napoleon Dynamite.

Okay, the very first time I watched this movie, I watched it with my nieces Chloe and Chelsea and my brother, Pete. We didn’t get it the first time, the first time we watched it, we watched the movie with no laughter…then we watched it again together and the second time we watched it, we laughed and laughed and laughed. Every time we watch it now, we laugh and laugh and laugh…it’s great. we can quote this movie and my brother mimicks Napoleon so good that I am always in fits of giggles while listening to him say stuff like, “Flippin’ sweet!” or “Tina, Eat.Your.Food.” haha, I love my brother!

2. Nacho Libre.

This is another one of those movies that I watch, can quote and laugh myself silly, it’s so funny. I love the whole eagle eggs and I love Esqueleto and Nacho, and my favorite scene is when Esqueleto is telling Nacho, “I hate all the orphans in all the world.” and Nacho goes butt crazy on him, oh this movie is hilarious and I love Nacho’s song for Encarnacio, my niece Chelsea can sing this song soooo good…hey, take it easy! LOL…go away, read some books! haha. LOVE THIS MOVIE!

3. Troy.

Brad Pitt looking mighty fine with his long locks and his powerful bod and just all the yummalicious goodness going on in this movie made me love this movie so effing much. Eric Bana was a frickin’ hottie in this movie and that line when Eric Bana tells the Trojan soldiers, “Troy is mother to us all, FIGHT FOR HER!” I LUB IT!

4. Love, Actually.

This is a movie that I’ve taken just about every danged person that I know to see. I saw this movie about 4-5 times in the theater and I bought the movie the day it came out and have loved it ever since. I love all of the storylines that blended and meshed together to make up this movie. I loved how they showed the different kinds of love and just the actors played their characters well and my heart totally went out to Mark from London, who was in love with his best friend’s wife…man, this movie was so good, so funny and just all around a really great movie.

5. Tristan & Isolde.

A tragic love story that captured my mind, body and soul….haha. This movie was the bomb and James Franco was a total fox in this movie. I’m telling you, YUMMALICIOUS! This movie not only made me cry but it made me mad and happy and sappy all at the same time, now that’s what I call a great friggin’ movie! haha.

6. She’s the Man.

Man, this movie had me laughing soooo hard so many times. Amanda Bynes did a fantabulous job entertaining the socks right off of me. She totally made this movie work. Channing Tatum was a hottie for real and his character made me fall in love all over again. He’s so effing hot and between his good looks and Amanda’s laugh out loud moments, this movie became a favorite of mine and I watch it all the time.

7. Grease 2.

I’m a Grease 2 fan. Most everyone I know don’t even like this movie but I effing love it. I love the songs better and even though the T Birds were a bunch of fags in this movie, I didn’t care because I loved Stephanie Zanoni and Michael Featherington or whatever his name is, this movie had such cool songs like, Cool Rider, Let’s Bowl, Reproduction, Who’s That Guy, Girl for All Season and my two favorites, We’ll Be Together and the one where Stephanie sings to Michael’s spirit, and Michael sings, “Remember I love you, I won’t be far away, I just close my eyes and think back to yesterday and we’ll be there together, Love with turn back the hands of time, whoa oh turn back whoa oh turn back, the hands ooooooofffff timeeeee ooooh…” You know, that song? LOVE THIS MOVIE!

8. Sound of Music.

Yeah, this is seriously one of my favorite movies. I love musicals and I love singing along to the songs and crap, and this is one of those movies that we used to watch on Sunday nights when I was little. Me and Pete used to sing that Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do song, Doe a deer, a female deer, Ray, a drop of golden sun, Me a name I call myself, Fa, a long long way to run, Sew, a needle pulling thread, La a note to follow Soo, Tea I drink with jam and bread that will bring us back to doe ohh ohh ohh, man we used to have fun singing along to that song, especially when they’re all running up and down the stairs and especially when Frauleign however you spell that dang thing (I can’t be arsed to spell check that mug, so just deal kay?) Maria sings, “When you know the notes to sing, you can sing most anything, TOGETHER!” haha, I told you this movie was the bomb. My Dad used to sing the Eidelweiss song to me when I was little and I loved it and another of my favorite songs is the Clock song, you know the one where they sing, So long farewell, I something something, I’d like to stay and drink my first champagne? Yes? No? haha,love it! Oh and remember that other song, I am sixteen going on seventeen I know that I’m naive, fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet and willingly I beleive, I am sixteen going on seventeen, innocent as a rose, and blah blah blah…man I used to jump from chair to chair singing this song in my living room and get yelled at for my trouble but man I loved singing along to this song. haha…I need someone older and wiser telling me what to do, you are 17 going on 18, I’llllll depeennnndddd on youuuuuu….HA!

9. Charly.

This is actually a movie that my Church put together but man this is one of my most favorite movies. It’s so good and yet soooo sad. It’s about a girl named Charly and the impact she had on a guy named Sam. It’s their story and it’s so touching, warm and real. This movie never fails to make me bawl buckets each and every time that I watch it…it’s one of those HOLY WOW THAT WAS A GREAT MOVIE kind of movies…haha. I totally recommend it!

10. 50 First Dates.

This movie cracks me the heck up. If you haven’t guessed, I like to laugh a lot and this movie totally makes me laugh…a lot. I love Ula, he had me in stitches from laughing so much in this movie, my favorite line from him is, “Believe it or not, dis my good eye!” hahaha…and the Wouldn’t It Be Nice song always has me crackin’ the hell up too…I need to watch this again real soon.


11. Sweet Home Alabama.

What’s not to like about this movie? You have two McDreamy guys falling in love with you and you can’t help but love them both at the same time wanting Reese Weatherspoon’s character to choose Jake. Man, this movie was the bomb and I love that song by SheDaisy, you know the Mine all Mine song? Man, love love LOVE this movie!

12. The Notebook.

One of the most awesomest movies EVER! I loved Allie and Noah and I loved the lasting love that they built with one another and the endless faith in each other that they had. Their kind of love is the kind that I want for myself and pray that I will get someday. This whole love story is such a great story and the movie was fantastic, Ryan Gosling is a friggin’ HOTTIE!

13. A Walk to Remember.

Another fantastic movie, a movie that touched emotions deep inside me and made me long for the same kind of love, a love that is all encompassing and just pure. I loved Landon and Jamie and their story told throughout this movie. I loved how Landon was Jamie’s Only Hope…and when she makes him promise at the beginning, that he will not fall in love with her, I couldn’t stop from AWWWWWING out loud, SO CUTE!

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 08 2007
Daphne

Haha, great list and I love how you include a wide variety. Silly movies, action movies, romantic.

We should totally catch a movie some time.

2 08 2007
Isabel

Grease 2! LOL I tried watching that and man I thought it was dumb. I love Sound of music. We used to sing “HOw do you solve a problem like maria?” But change the name to my sister’s name, my cousin or mine. LOL. I love Love Actually.

2 08 2007
Rowena

Daphne,

Thanks sweetie, I love all of these movies…

…even Grease 2, Izzy…what’s wrong with my movie, huh??? HUH??? haha.

5 08 2007
Marianne Arkins

I don’t like the sad ones you mentioned — I’m all about the Happy Every After.

But, all-in-all, a great list!

6 08 2007
Melody

Great list! And I really enjoyed watching She’s the Man! Haven’t seen the rest though…except Troy. 🙂

6 08 2007
Mollie

Grease 2?! Seriously?! Pretty much in agreement with the rest! Although A Walk to Remember was a little to sad for my taste.

7 08 2007
Zeek

Got some goodies in there! Never saw Troy but I love me some Nappy Dynamite and Love, Actually!

oo I just saw “Just Like Heaven” with Reese Witherspoon- cool romantic comedy. Loved it.

10 08 2007
Devon

When we first got a cable Grease 2 was on all the time, and we used to play the we were the Pink Ladies. I was the one who would dress like Jackie O. Y’know, the one who was in the bomb shelter and sang “Let’s Do it For Our Country”?

The movie doesn’t hold up very well. “Reproduction” seems very different now that I know what it means.

Leave a Reply

