Movie: This Christmas.

13 12 2007

Starring: Regina King, Chris Brown, Loretta Divine, Mikhi Phifer, Laz Alonzo, etc.
Rating: PG-13
Grade: B-

This year, Christmas with the Whitfield’s promises to be one they will never forget. All the siblings have come home for the first time in years and they’ve brought plenty of baggage with them. As the Christmas tree is trimmed and the lights are hung, secrets are revealed and family bonds are tested. As their lives converge, they join together and help each other discover the true meaning of family.

Okay so this is a movie that I wanted to see this Christmas season because as you guys know, I’m addicted to some Chris Brown and I’ve got to say that between him and Regina King, they totally made this movie. I thought this movie was going to have me jumping out of my seat loving it but it didn’t. Not that it was a bad movie or anything, I just …liked it.

The story is about a family, a big black family who comes together for the holidays to Big Mama’s house and you see their secrets (all of them) come to light and all the drama that follows the drama.  You have one son, who’s been away for four years and coming back home for the first time, running away from the boys that are trying to get him for $25 grand.  You got another son who is with a white girl but afraid of what his Mama and family going to say so he’s keeping her on the down low.  You have a daughter who’s husband is a lying cheating bastard and she think her crap don’t stink, then you have another daughter with a princess complex who thinks that she’s above everyone else because she’s got a degree and a career, another college daughter who changed her major when she changes boyfriends and then you have a son who wants to pursue his singing career but knows that his Mother won’t be happy about his choice of profession since she lost the Daddy that way and so all of these drama’s are shown to us  throughout this movie and overall, it’s just a really good family movie.

Chris Brown totally made this movie as did Regina King. That bathroom scene when Regina King finally sees the light about her husband and he’s in the shower and she’s making him believe that she’s getting ready to give him some nookie when really she’s spreading baby oil on the floor and then spanking him with the belt for cheating on her, had me rollin’ on the floor laughing for days because the way she booked it the hell out of there after hitting him with the belt like he was one of her kids was just too frickin’ funny.

And when Chris Brown sings Try a Little Tenderness at the club? I loved it! I just love listening to him sing because seriously the boy can sing.  Here’s a clip of when he sang at the club:

He’s so the bomb diggity and I love his voice!  He sings great at the end at the Church too and I’m seriously thinking of buying this soundtrack so that  I can have these songs because I heart me some Chris Brown.   I enjoyed all of the characters but my favorites were Chris Brown and Regina King, they totally stole the whole movie and I loved watching the whole family get down, Soul Train style.  Even the Mom and stand in Dad.  It was great, the kids enjoyed this movie as did the adults but my favorite movie this year is still Why Did I Get Married.

You should watch this with the kids over the holidays, it’s a good way to spend a few hours.

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 12 2007
Dev

I’ve been wanting to see this. I really like Regina King and Gabrielle Union, so the fact that they’re both in this is enough for me to go see it.

14 12 2007
kuaback

hehehehe..i love me some Chris Brown too and girl i couldnt stop cracking up at the slippery shower with the fusipa’u beating scene..That was hi-frickin-larious..It reminded me of back home and how the kids get beatings like that from they parents..lol..
and yes..I love WHy did I get married..the drama was flowin mamas…

14 12 2007
Rowena

Dev,

Regina King is in this movie but Gabrielle Union I don’t remember seeing but it’s still worth it to see it because Regina King had me laughing a whole lot.

Jen,

LOL, that fusipa’u scene was the bomb, especially when she shook right after she beat him, oh man I was laughing…exactly, Why Did I Get Married was the bomb, especially Angela and Marcus crazy asses! haha.

15 12 2007
kuaback

Ha!

Angela had me rolling literally off my chair at the movies..she was one crazy meauli woman and i was luff her to bits…chooo

17 12 2007
Rowena

LOL, I was luff her to bits too, especially when she knocked homegirls luggage out of Malcolm’s hands at the cabin, LOL…oh man, I love Angela!!!! haha.

Leave a Reply

