Movie Review: Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married

15 10 2007

When eight married college friends reunite for their annual retreat in the snowcapped mountains of Colorado, they come expecting fun and relaxation, but get a completely unexpected surprise. Career-driven Dianne and her supportive, but fed-up husband, Terry, are joined by popular psychologist and best-selling author Patricia and her architect husband Gavin, who share a secret tragedy that finally comes to light, while Angela and Marcus argue constantly, but remain in love. Also in attendance is their good friend Sheila, a sweet woman with a distorted self-image stemming from weight issues that are exacerbated by her emotionally abusive and philandering husband, Mike. Unlike any other year, this trip changes the dynamic of the group with two new additions: Sheila’s supposed girlfriend, Trina, who is secretly sleeping with her husband; and Troy, an ex-Wall Street stockbroker who has put his career on hold to care for an ailing father.

This weekend, Mulu, Bina and I went to see Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married and to be honest, I don’t recall seeing a better movie this year. This movie totally had it all! It made me laugh out loud so many different times, it made me cry, it made me angry and it made me happy…for the characters.

You see, this movie is about four married couples and the individual problems they are facing in their marriages. We have a career woman named Diane who is married to her job and takes her husband, Terry for granted, we have a best selling author named Patricia and her husband Gavin, who are going through some kind of problem that we don’t find out about until well into the movie, we have a wife, Sheila who dedicates her everything to an underserving husband named Mike and then we have a wife named Angela, who has a dead beat husband, Marcus, a husband who can’t keep a job and everything, they fight constantly but they remain in love, these two were the hilarious couple, oh man did they make this movie enjoyable for everyone, it was just fantabulous. All of the couples are friends and they go away every year for a week, away from their jobs and they work on their relationships.

This year, they go away for a retreat in the Colorado mountains expecting fun, laughter and good times…only to show up and find out the secrets each of them are keeping, secrets that have the ability to cripple most and end some of their marriages.

Each of the couples had their own problems that they were facing and it was pretty genius the way that Tyler Perry wrote this movie, because each couple got equal amounts of screen time and none of the storylines felt rushed or anything, I enjoyed every single storyline and I just thought this movie was FABULOUS!

Terry and Dianne, they were the cutest couple, even though Mulu has ruined Tyler Perry (I thought he was very handsome in this movie, Mulu thought otherwise and told her that he reminds her of this really ugly guy that I actually gagged when she mentioned it, so I’m mad at her because of that.), I felt Terry’s frustrations where Dianne were concerned and there were times aplenty throughout the movie where I wanted to backhand her and make her open up her eyes to what she’s missing. Terry is hilarious, he’s one of those upstanding guys who any woman would be lucky to have…it sucked that it took so long for Dianne to realize that.

My favorite line from these two:

Terry: “Dianne, when we got married, we got rid of the I’s and replaced them with US!”

Gavin and Patricia, they were the perfect couple. They had a good and solid relationship but you could tell that they were going through some very deep stuff, we didn’t get to see what they were until toward the end of the movie and when we finally found out, I was like, DAMN! It was good to see that even though they were the “perfect” couple, they had problems just like everyone else and I enjoyed their storyline.

My favorite line from these two:

Patricia: “Perfect Patti messed up! Perfect Patti messed up!”

The way it was delivered was supposed to be sad and depressing and though it was, it still made me and Mulu laugh. We’re horrible, we already know that.

Marcus and Angela, these two were the crack ups. These two were the ghetto fabulous couple, the couple that had me in fits of laughter all throughout the movie. Marcus is an ex pro ball player who’s career ended when he got injured, Angela has a thriving hair care line and is the only one making the paper in this relationship since Marcus can’t seem to find a suitable career for himself after his football career ended, they bicker and they fight and they are just hilariously funny and I loved this storyline a lot, Angela has a take charge and no bullcrap from anyone kind of attitude, she’s the typical strong woman and I loved her! Man, these two had me laughing so effing much, Angela especially.

My favorite line from these two:

There’s too many to count…ALL OF THEM WERE GOOD! One that had me laughing was this one:

Angela: (with her girls) “You know how I can tell when Marcus is lying? When he ends his sentences with, you know what I’m saying?”

Later that night…

Angela’s trying to seduce Marcus, but Marcus can’t have sex with her because Terry said so.

Marcus: I’m tired, it’s been a long day and I just wanna go to sleep, you know what I’m saying?”

Which pisses Angela the hell off. LOL.

The last couple was Mike and Sheila:

Sheila is a big girl and Mike is a big asshole. They’ve been married for a long time and Mike is no longer in love with Sheila and he’s not afraid to let everyone know that he doesn’t like her, is not attracted to her at all and is just an all around dick head to her. Sheila, on the other hand is going up to this couple’s retreat to try to save her marriage. She loves Mike and has given her all to him and their home. Sometimes, its just not enough but that’s going to keep her from trying to fix her marriage…this was the storyline that hit me hard, I cried for Sheila right from the very beginning to the very end, such a good and strong woman and for her to be stuck in a marriage to an ass like Mike made me feel for her, her heart was so big and full of love for this underserving jerk but I was glad with the way this storyline ended, it was just good good good.

I can’t recall the entire line that Sheila says in the bathroom at the end but that’s my favorite line from these two.

Overall, this movie was great, I totally recommend this movie to anyone who is in the mood for a good, solid love story…it’s a great movie for married couples to go and watch to remember why they got married and a good girly flick for girls to go see with their girlfriends, I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! It was pure entertainment and I don’t care what the critics said about this movie, this movie was the bomb and I hella loved it, I loved it so much that I’d gladly spend another $10.50 to watch this movie again.

GO SEE IT!!!!


Actions

Information

3 responses

16 10 2007
Dev

Thanks so much for posting this! I’ve seen the previews on TV and have been thinking about whether or not to see it.

16 10 2007
Isabel

I want to see this movie. Great review sweets!

19 10 2007
Rowena

Dev,

GO SEE IT, this movie is the BEST!!!! I LOVED IT! I wanna see it again this weekend!

Iz,

Make sure you go and see this with Sophia, she’ll love it just as much as you will, I promise…this movie is hilarious!

Leave a comment